Time For A Cowboy To Dream…

hay-1022849_1280

Image Credit: Pixabay

On the evening of March 28th my father was taken to hospital by ambulance. He had suffered a subarachnoid hemorrhage due to a brain aneurysm that had ruptured at the base of his neck. Because of the location of the aneurysm (base of the neck) and the type that it was (a blister-like bump with a wide neck), operating on it came with some very high risks. Special tools were flown out because the hospital did not have any small enough to go through the vessels where the aneurysm was located. The surgery to put a stent in to block the flow of blood to the aneurysm took about 7 hours. But it was successful.

Unfortunately, there were complications concerning the shunt that was put in my father’s head a few days before his major surgery took place. He needed a permanent shunt because it was discovered through CT scans that he had fluid building up in his brain, causing cranial pressure. But what happened was that the pipes in the shunt were getting blocked by clots of blood that the doctor suspected was from the initial bleed. And unfortunately the pipe that the doctor was hoping was not blocked (the one that went straight into my father’s brain) turned out to be the one that was.

My father was on blood thinners at this point because he needed to be on them for the surgery involving the stent. This was why the doctor was hoping that the pipe that went into my father’s brain would not need to be touched because any little movement could cause another bleed.

Unfortunately, the complications with the shunt became too much. And I was told, along with my family, that my father would not make it and that the hospital would make sure to keep my father as comfortable as possible for his remaining days.

On the morning of May 5th my father passed away. I was with him and my mother when it happened. We were told he would feel no pain. That he would just become very drowsy and go into a sleep.

I remember the sun shining bright in his hospital room as I talked to him about his yard and all his little woodland ornaments. My father’s yard was his pride and joy.

It’s been a very tough few weeks for myself and my family. But I am choosing to remember those good days when I was able to make my father smile.

My father loved watching old western movies. So I am going to end this post with a song that was sung by Dean Martin and Ricky Nelson from the movie Rio Bravo. ❤

9 thoughts on “Time For A Cowboy To Dream…

  1. ofopinions says:

    I am so sorry, Tamara. My heart goes out to you. It is a small mercy, but at least he didn’t suffer and you got to say your goodbyes properly, even if it was sudden. I don’t really know what to say, but I do hope you shall be able to keep yourself together and celebrate all the wonder and joy he brought to your life.

    Liked by 1 person

      • ofopinions says:

        Comments on the internet aren’t the best place for it, and I hope this doesn’t come across as unsolicited advice, but try not to heed to whatever advice you get from people about how to deal with this. It is a process yes, but you can only come to terms with it on your own. I think you’re doing so well to remember the good times, and all the love you have for him. No one can ask for more, and it is so important to remember that love amidst all this.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

